What I Learned In Marketing

After spending seven semesters on campus as a full-time student I have been exposed to many things.  From geology to statistics several theories, names and facts have been thrown at me to the point I often tell my peers “If someone were to be able to retain over a third of what they have been exposed to in life they would come out knowing 300% more than other graduates.”  While this may be true for me and the majority of students on campus I still think education is still valuable for the few facts and theories one can come away with from taking a course.  This semester I took Marketing 221.  Like many of my courses before I was exposed to a wide array of material.  From the material three topics covered stick out as theories I can use and reuse throughout my life to help me strive for success.

The first is the Five Pillars of Marketing.  The Five Pillars of Marketing are used from forming an idea to implementing an idea. Throughout the semester the Five Pillars of Marketing was brought up to the point many in class could argue it was over emphasized.  However, I believe they were under emphasized if anything.  The Five Pillars of Marketing are important to and practiced by anyone wishing to form and implement an idea.  In fact before attending the class I was practicing the Five Pillars of Marketing without knowing it, blindly.  However after attending the class and being enlightened on the Five Pillars I could see them clearly and have already used them to formulate a few ideas. Being aware of the pillars and the five individual steps I have been able to speed of my process of creating and implementing ideas, and focus on the individual pillars i.e. steps instead of looking at the idea as an ambiguous mess.  I will be successful at retaining and practicing the Five Pillars because they have been stressed to me to the point I can see them in every practice and I have practiced them a few times unlike other ideas and processes I have learned in class.

The second is the acronym S.U.C.C.E.S.  Over the course we used the book Made to Stick by the Heath brothers.  The main focus on book was on how to go about making an idea sticky.  To tackle the individual components of making an idea sticky the authors used the acronym S.U.C.C.E.S.   This acronym stands for Simple Unexpected Concrete Creditable Emotional Stories.  If you are to look at any stick idea from proverbs to urban legends you find many of these characteristics.  Made to Stick goes through several examples demonstrating how to analyze if an idea is sticky, and through the process of reading the book you learn how to pick apart ideas and judge their stickiness by the acronym.  Personally after reading the book I began to look and judge ads and lectures on the acronym.  Every time I am lectured I focus on going through the acronym and deciphering the central method by going through the components of the presentation.  Additionally I have already implemented using the acronym by making sure all of my presentations and persuasive papers I have written this semester have the elements of the acronym.

In relation to the book, the renowned leadership expert, Cornel Kolditz was invited to speak to our class on August 30th, 2011.  One of the things he discussed with us was commander’s intent.  Commander’s Intent is a mil

Over the course of this semester I was exposed to several key concepts and ideas in all of my classes, including Marketing 221.  Although it would be ideal to remember every concept taught to me I know it is inevitable I will not be able to remember everything taught to me.  While there were several useful things taught to me in Marketing 221 I believe the Five Pillars of Marketing, S.U.C.C.E.S. and Commander’s Intent have and will continue to be a part of my daily thinking as a future entrepreneur and businessman.  When using all three concepts I am know able to clearly form and implement an idea, define and analyze the stickiness of an idea and communicate my intentions of my idea with ease.

 

Leave a Reply

